Sarah Ward Maritime Archaeologist
On Sunday 22nd May 2011, a dedicated crowd gathered at Mort’s Park to commemorate the listing of Mort’s Dock on the NSW State Heritage Register.
Members of the Balmain Association, Heritage planners, Councillors, local residents and Member for Balmain: Jamie Parker, incoming Leichhardt Mayor Cr Porteous and Gabrielle Kibble of the Heritage Council of NSW were all present for this significant event. Sarah Ward, Maritime Archaeologist Office of Environment and Heritage for the NSW Department nominated the site for the Heritage register and opened the event acknowledging that the listing was a significant event for the people of Balmain and would have made Nick Origlass and Issy Wyner proud. It celebrates the social and cultural significance of the site and will help protect Mort’s Bay Park, in years to come.
Speeches made by the outgoing mayor and other guest speakers alike commemorated the longtime efforts of the Balmain Association and resident action groups who have worked so hard over the years to improve and protect Balmain’s working harbour.
Gabrielle Kibble: Heritage Council of NSW, Mayor of Leichhardt, Rochelle Porteous, Member for Balmain, Jamie Parker
History: Balmain’s Mort’ Dock named after Thomas Mort, was the first Dry dock of it’s size, opening in 1855 one year before Cockatoo island. It was the largest shipyard and engineering workshop, and the colony’s largest private enterprise. Also home of the Ship Painters and Dockers union which was established on site in 1872 and instrumental in the creation of what was later become the Australian Labour Party in 1891.
Leichhardt Council, in partnership with the Heritage Council of NSW and the Balmain Association, cordially invite you to help to celebrate the listing of Mort’s Dock on State Heritage at an official plaque unveiling on
Sunday 22 May 2011 at 2pm at the former dry dock at Mort Bay Park.
Mort’s Dock was the largest shipyard and engineering workshop in Australia in the latter half of the 19th century. The site developed into the colony’s largest private enterprise and in many ways helped establish the colony and Sydney as Australia’s premier maritime port. The archaeological remains are possibly the only remains of a dry dock of this size preserved in situ.
Coffee and light refreshments will be provided by Leichhardt Council to celebrate the listing of this important historical item.
For any enquires on this matter please contact Leichhardt Council’s Parks and Open Space Planning Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org or phone: 02 9367 9270 during normal working hours.
We hope that you can join us.
Sarah Ward Maritime Archaeologist
Office of Environment & Heritage
NSW Dept of Premier & Cabinet
Saturday 21 May, 2-5pm
Take a guided walk in Birchgrove with the Australian Garden History Society
and discover two ex-industrial sites that are now contrasting harbour-side
parks: Mort Bay Park and Ballast Point Park, along with a couple of
enchanting private gardens, in very diverse locations.
For more information:
* Cost: $25/ AGHS members $15, includes light refreshments and notes
Bookings essential: Jeanne Villani, 9997 5995 / Jeanne@Villani.com
Our Heritage Festival event for 2011 “Leichhardt Jubilee Pressed” went very well with a lot of local interest in the history of Leichhardt, the photography of J.G. Parks and the wonderful and fascinating process of the Print Press.
We had about 60 people on the opening night, a great crowd of artistic and historically inclined people, with special guest photographer Lewis Morley, speakers Sue Tronser from Heritage Group of Leichhardt District (HGOLD), CR Vera Ann Hannaford and artists Bill and Genevieve Moseley of Hill End Press.
(right click to turn off quick start)